Skip to main content

ADAQ announces Hall of Fame recipients


The Association des detaillants en alimentation du Quebec has announced the 2012 recipients of its Hall of Fame awards.

Réal Ménard, president of Canada Bread Frozen Bakery of Maple Leaf Foods, and Quebec delicatessen specialist Lafleur will be honoured with awards at the upcoming ADAQ conference, Nov. 9 to 11, at the Fairmont Manoir Richelieu in the province's Malbaie region.

Lafleur, owned by Olymel, was founded 100 years ago by Alphonse Lafleur in Quebec City.

Menard has worked in the North American bakery industry for more than 30 years at companies such as Nabisco and Culinar. He became president of Canada Bread Frozen Bakery in 2007.

The selection committee for the awards was comprised of Richard Ayotte of Agropur/Natrel; Marc Sauvageau of Acosta Quebec; Luc Jette of Sleeman; and Denis Brisebois of Metro-Richelieu.

The ADAQ will also induct the following retailers into its Hall of Fame during its annual conference: Réal Provencher, Provigo Robert, Montreal; Raymond Drouin, Metro Plus Drouin, Vieux-Longueuil; Jacques Lacas, IGA Extra Famille Lacas, Salaberry-de-Valleyfield; and Michel Paré, Boni-Soir, Estrie.

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds