Celebrate this year's Golden Pencil winners

McCain and Scornaienchi to receive the grocery industry's highest honour

In just over two weeks, the grocery industry will come together to celebrate the winners of this year’s Golden Pencil Award—the industry’s most prestigious honour.

The Golden Pencil recognizes a person’s lifetime contributions to the grocery industry.

This year’s recipients include Michael McCain of Maple Leaf Foods and Vince Scornaienchi of Fortinos. They will receive their awards Nov. 14 at the Royal York Hotel in Toronto.

READ: Golden Pencil winners for 2016 announced

Ideal candidates for the award will have been involved with the Canadian grocery industry a minimum of 10 years and achieved senior executive status. They should also have made significant contributions to the Canadian food industry and to their companies.

Last year’s Golden Pencil recipients were Longo Brothers’ Gus Longo, Lassonde’s Jean Gattuso and GS1’s Arthur Smith.

Other recent winners include Dino Bianco of Kraft, Eric La Flèche of Metro and Louise Wendling of Costco.

The Golden Pencil award ceremony for McCain and Scornaienchi will be held Nov. 14 a the Royal York Hotel in Toronto, from 5 to 7 p.m.

To purchase tickets, please visit here.

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds