Skip to main content

David Wiens named president of Dairy Farmers of Canada

Wiens succeeds Pierre Lampron
David Wiens
David Wiens

David Wiens has been tapped to succeed Pierre Lampron as president of Dairy Farmers of Canada (DFC).

Formerly the vice-president of the board, Wiens farms in Grunthal, Man., where he milks 230 cows and tends 1600 acres of cropland with his brother, Charles.

"I would like to thank dairy farmers for electing me to lead our national organization," Wiens said in a statement. "Our industry is at a crossroads, we face numerous challenges, but there are also opportunities which we must seize."

Chair of Dairy Farmers of Manitoba, Wiens has been a director with the DFC board since 2009. In 2011, he was elected to the position of VP. 

During his time on the board, Wiens has been the chair of the promotion committee and is currently serving as the chair of the proaction committee and of the Canadian Dairy Research Council

He also chairs the committee that is reviewing and updating the Code of Practice for the Care and Handling of Dairy Cattle.

DFC’s 2023 board of directors are below:

President: David Wiens
British Columbia: Sarah Sache
Alberta: Wim Van De Brake
Saskatchewan: Matthew Flaman
Manitoba: Stefan Singer
Ontario: Vicky Morrison, Mark Hamel, Don Gordon
Quebec: Daniel Gobeil, Peter Strebel, Marcel Blais
New Brunswick: Gilbert Matheson 
Nova Scotia: Greg Archibald
Prince Edward Island: Steve Reeves
Newfoundland and Labrador: TBA

Advertisement - article continues below
This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds