Empire chief Michael Medline to receive RCC Trailblazer Award

Executive to be recognized at RCC's Canadian Grand Prix New Product Awards Gala
Jillian Morgan, female, digital editor for Canadian Grocer
michael medline
Michael Medline.

Empire Co. Ltd. president and CEO Michael Medline is the 2024 recipient of the Retail Council of Canada’s (RCC) Canadian Grand Prix Trailblazer Award.

The award recognizes individuals or families outstanding service and dedication to the Canadian retail and grocery industries, spearheaded historic, transformational change in their sectors, and exhibited both passion and courage in their leadership.

“Michael has always been a passionate and vocal advocate of the retail sector and has never shied away from standing up and speaking out on the issues of greatest importance for our industry,” said Diane J. Brisebois, president and CEO of RCC, in a release. “His commitment to being authentic and courageous, and leading with compassion each and every day has left an indelible mark on our industry and his professional and philanthropic pursuits perfectly exemplify the essence of a true Trailblazer.”

Medline was appointed president and CEO of Empire and Sobeys Inc. in January 2017. He previously served as president and CEO of Canadian Tire Corp.

He serves on the board of directors for Scotiabank, the board of trustees for SickKids, the board of governors for Huron University College at Western University, the board of directors for The BlackNorth Initiative and the Sobey Foundation

READ: Leading an Empire

Medline is past chair of RCC as well as The Grocery Foundation, and was formerly on the board of governors for Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame and board of directors for SickKids Foundation.

Past Lifetime Achievement and Trailblazer recipients include: Sobeys’ chair emeriti, Donald and David Sobey; Mother Parkers Tea & Coffee co-chairmen, Paul Higgins Jr. and Michael Higgins; Longo’s president and CEO Anthony Longo and the Longo family; Cindy and Tina Lee of T&T Supermarkets; Burnbrae Farms’ president and CEO, Margaret Hudson; Pattison Food Group president Darrell Jones; Morrison Lamothe Inc & Club Coffee L.P. CEO John Pigott; and Metro Inc.’s former SVP of procurement and corporate Bbands, Serge Boulanger.

The Trailblazer Award will be presented to Medline at RCC's Canadian Grand Prix New Product Awards Gala on May 29 at the Toronto Congress Centre. 

Joining Medline at the Gala is Dino Bianco, CEO of Kruger Products Inc., who is receiving the 2024 Canadian Grand Prix Lifetime Achievement Award from RCC and Food, Health & Consumer Products of Canada.

The Canadian Grand Prix New Product Awards Gala will close the second day of the STORE 2024 retail conference, running May 28 and 29.

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds