Skip to main content

PHOTO GALLERY: CFIG reveals Top Ten in Grocery, Master Merchandiser Award winners

See the grocers and products recognized at Grocery Innovations Canada

The Canadian Federation of Independent Grocers (CFIG) handed out several awards at the Grocery Innovations Canada (GIC) exhibition and conference this week.

CFIG announced winners of the 2023 Top Ten in Grocery Awards and Master Merchandiser Awards Tuesday (Oct. 24).  

Held at the Toronto Congress Centre, GIC took place on Oct. 24 and 25. 

The 2023 GIC award winners are below. Photography courtesy CFIG.

2023 Top Ten in Grocery Awards

Industry judges selected the Top Ten in Grocery Award winners from the The New Product Showcase.

Best Packaging

Karma Probiotic Water Strawberry Lemonade (Karma Culture Inc.)

Best Health & Wellness Product 

Herbal Coffee Alternative with Dandelion Original (Nummy Creations Inc.) 

Best Condiment

Plant-based Dressing and Dip Creamy Miso (La Presserie) 

Best Beverage

Liquid IV Passion Fruit (Unilever Canada)

Best Pet Product

DreamBone Wavy Chips Chicken & Peanut Butter (Spectrum Brands Global Pet Care Canada Inc.)

Best Non-food Product

Rf-Paper Electronic Shelf Labels 1.5" Electronic Shelf Label (Aketroniks)

Best Local Product

Demetres Ultra Premium Ice Cream Pints House of Earl Grey (Demetres)

Best Convenience Product

Instant Pumpkin Stewed Pumpkin (Life Foods)

Best Sustainable Product

Heat N' Eat Popcorn Sweet & Salty Kettle Corn (Bad Monkey Popcorn Inc.)

Best Spread

Fruit + Chia Spread Blackberry (World of Chia)

Swipe through the gallery below to see this year’s winners.

Advertisement - article continues below

2023 Master Merchandiser Awards

A panel of industry judges determined category winners based on: creativity and visual appeal; effective use of signage; display shopability; effective cross-merchandising; and supporting manufacturer compliance. 

Merchandising displays, promotions and events were held between Aug. 13, 2022 and Aug. 11, 2023.

First to Market – New Product

Small Surface – Gold

London Road Market, Lethbridge, Alta.
Duane Gurr and team
Supplier: Michael Burrows, Saputo

Medium Surface – Gold

Market Street Vulcan, Vulcan, Alta.
Scott Mitchell and team 
Supplier: Sharon Gower, Saputo

Large Surface – Gold

Lady York Foods, North York, Ont.
Gabriele Torchetti and team 
Supplier: Anthy Kapsalis, Burnbrae Farms

Themed Event

Small Surface – Gold

Fairway Market #12, Sidney, B.C.
Cameron Kung and team
Supplier: Brad Gray, Tree Of Life

Medium Surface – Gold 

IGA #36 Marketplace, Coquitlam, B.C.
Finbar O’Riordan and team
Supplier: Lilian Paiement, General Mills

Large Surface – Gold

Save-On-Foods #996, Burnaby, B.C.
Brian Clark and team
Supplier: Craig Britton, Maple Leaf Foods, WonderBrands, KraftHeinz, Smucker Foods

Perimeter Display

Small Surface – Gold

South Hill Fine Foods, Moose Jaw, Sask.
Jaspreet Nagra and team
Supplier: Carey Bailey, Saputo

Medium Surface – Gold

Longo’s Bayview, Thornhill, Ont.
Longo’s Bayview team
Supplier: Adam O’Driscoll, Maple Leaf Foods

Large Surface – Gold

Portage La Prairie Co-op Food Store, Portage La Prairie, Man.
Mike Robinson and team 
Supplier: Dallas Alexander, Lactalis Canada


Small Surface – Gold

Sun Valley Supermarket, Scarborough, Ont.
Jim and Vicki Bexis and team 
Supplier: Vince Tedesco, Maple Leaf Foods, Bimbo Canada 

Medium Surface – Gold

Powell's Supermarket, Bay Roberts, N.L.
Powell's Supermarket Bay Roberts team 
Supplier: Shane Tipple, PepsiCo Foods and Derek Mercer, Old Dutch

Large Surface – Gold

Save-On-Foods #980, Orchard Plaza, Kelowna, B.C. 
Eric Falkenberg, Scott Nazaruk and team 
Supplier: Michael Tatchell, Kevin Kentel and Steven MacLean, Coca-Cola and Linda Laidlaw, Nestlé Canada

Single Manufacturer

Small Surface – Gold

Colemans St. Anthony, St. Anthony, N.L.
Melanie Powell and team 
Supplier: Kruger Products.

Medium Surface – Gold

Calgary Co-op 8, Calgary
Jerry Kulacz and team
Supplier: Taylor Bryant, Kraft Heinz

Large Surface – Gold

Save-On-Foods #980, Orchard Plaza, Kelowna, B.C. 
Eric Falkenberg and Scott Nazaruk
Supplier: Kevin Kentel, Steven MacLean, Ken McCaffrey and Michael Tatchell, Coca-Cola

Swipe through the gallery below to see this year’s winners.

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds